Australian Author Wins Man Booker Prize 2014


The Australian publishing industry is rejoycing with the news that Australian author Richard Flanagan has won the Man Booker Prize for Fiction with his book The Narrow Road to the Deep North.

the-narrow-road-to-the-deep-north-book-cover (Small)






About the book

A novel of the cruelty of war, and tenuousness of life and the impossibility of love. August, 1943. In the despair of a Japanese POW camp on the Thai-Burma death railway, Australian surgeon Dorrigo Evans is haunted by his love affair with his uncle’s young wife two years earlier. Struggling to save the men under his command from starvation, from cholera, from beatings, he receives a letter that will change his life forever.

Many are hailing the win as not only a win for Flanagan, but for Australian literature and Australian publishers accross the board.

With the news, many Australian publishers are hoping that his win will kindle (pun intended) interest in other Australian authors and the onflow will be a boon for publishers wishing to score exposure accross the big, wide oceans to the US and UK markets.

The week before the win, his book had sold approximately 300 copies. The week following the win, that jumped up to 10,000 copies in one week in the UK alone.

You can check out Richard Flanagan’s book on Amazon here.

About Richard Flanagan

Richard Flanagan is a Tasmanian, decended from Irish convicts transported to Australia in the 1840’s. His father survived the Thai-Burma railway camp. Obviously the source of inspiration for the winning novel.

He left school at 16, but returned to study later, obtaining a Bachelor of Arts. He was then awarded a Rhodes Scholarship to Oxford, UK.

He has penned six novels, five non-fiction tomes and written or co-written two Australian screenplays, The Sound of One Hand Clapping (director and scriptwriter) and Australia (co-writer) with Baz Lurhman.

Click here to see Richard Flanagans Amazon Author Profile and a list of all of his books.

Author Profile

About the Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize was launched in 1969 to promote the best fiction by an award of £50,000. The criteria is the book be written by a UK citizen, the Commonwealth or Republic of Ireland. That put’s Australian’s in contention.

The judges are chosen from literary critics, writers, poets, politicians, actors and academics. As long as they have a passion for fiction, they are in the running to be appointed as a judge.

Buy Now!

Post by Aishah Macgill

Share – Use your preferred Button

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Stumbleupon Linkedin Delicious Reddit